2019 Annual Awards Night – that’s a wrap!

2019 Annual Awards Night – that’s a wrap!

Softball WA’s Awards ‘Night of Nights’ was held at Leederville Sports Bar, Subiaco FC on the Friday, 3 May 2019. Over 200 Players, Officials, parents, VIP’s, Life Members, volunteers and guests attended the annual event dedicated to showcase the achievements on and off the diamond in the 2018-19 season.

Massive thanks to Jill Green, Marietjie Haereroa & Shirley Schneider for coordinating this event and to Russ Clark CEO for MC the event. Their amazing work behind the scenes made for a great night for all in attendance. Special mention to Mary Brown for taking photos of award recipients on the night. Your efforts do not go unnoticed.

This night is about celebrating the achievements of not only our State Team players but also the achievements of many people who have contributed to our sport in WA for a very long period of time. It was also an opportunity to congratulate the 37 Players & Officials that were named in Australian teams after the Nationals in January, be proud of how far you have come and what you have achieved. It is also a night of great opportunity to catch-up with everyone and share stories or memorable moments from the year; but also for some, stories from many, many years ago.

Hall of Fame

SWA Hall of FameKevin Osborne
SWA Hall of FameTom Corcoran
SAL Hall of FameAdam Humble (2017)
SAL Hall of FameNathan Jones (2017)
SAL Hall of FameNeal Delpero (2018)

Meritorous Awards

Official of the YearKaren Vagg
Administrator of the YearPaul Hamersley
Regional Volunteer of the YearTammy Tennant
Metropolitan Volunteer of the YearAli Brooks

Junior State Teams

Congratulation to the following individuals:

 U15 Girls WhiteJasmine SwinbournBatting
Madison McCabeMVP
U15 Girls GoldChelsea Te WhataBatting
Zoe PurcellMVP
U15 BoysKade DenneyBatting
Zachary MullenMVP
U17 GirlsOlivia KuzminskiBatting
Aislinn MorrisMVP
U17 BoysAaryan KapoorBatting
Austin HaganMVP
U19 WomenGemma HookerBatting
Mackayla DenneyMVP
U19 MenJett WrightBatting
Jett WrightMVP

Senior State Teams

Congratulations to the following individuals:

U23 Women (2018)McKenzie Giles-MartinBatting
Monique Rimmer-HerringtonMVP
U23 Men (2018)Cody GibbBatting
Mathew BeckettMVP
Open Women (Flames)Verity Long-DroppertBatting
Leah ParryMVP
Open Men (Blaze)Scott PattersonBatting
Mark HarrisMVP

Newcrest Mining Spirit Award

This award is awarded to a recipient that displays excellence on the softball diamond and outstanding qualities off the diamond. The recipient of this award captained the Steelers at the TAB Challenge Cup in New Zealand in February, conducted junior clinics for the Busselton Association, did extra training sessions with the Flames and played at the Nationals with a broken finger. Congratulations to Brendon O’Byrne on receiving this Award.

Most Promising Junior Award

This award has been reinstated last year after many years of inactivity since 2000. This award goes to an Under 15 Junior Player who has displayed great potential and development over the last year to one day having the potential to be a dynamite on the field. Congratulations to dual winners Ashlyn Hayes & Amber Hinchliffe on receiving this Award.

Softball WA would just like to congratulate all players, officials and volunteers for their outstanding work throughout the 2018-19 season and hope you see all next year for a more successful and better season for WA.

Take a look at some pics from the night below.